Make Sure to Download Your Flickr Photos This Weekend

Image: Pexels

If you have over 1,000 photos uploaded to Flickr, then you should download them now or risk losing them forever.

Back in April of last year, Yahoo sold Flickr to the company SmugMug. In November SmugMug announced it planned to end the free unlimited image storage that Flickr offered users in January, and instead limit users to 1,000 photos worth of storage for free.

Advertisement

For people that don’t share that many photos on Flickr then it’s not a huge deal. If you have more than 1,000 images on Flickr, then it’s a really big deal. Starting February 5th those extra photos are going to be deleted, starting with your oldest ones.

If you don’t want to lose the extra pics you have two choices: You can sign up for a Pro account for $50/year, or download those photos.

Advertisement

To download yours, log in to your account and then go to User Account followed by Settings.

At the bottom of the page, you’ll see a “Request my Flickr data” button. Click that and wait.

Flickr will compile all your images into a Zip file or many Zip files depending on how many images you have. You’ll get an email with links to download them all once it’s done.

Advertisement

And when you do download those pics, make sure you’re backing them up somewhere other than just your computer so you don’t have to worry about losing them again.

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Learning Parser Combinators with Rust
Set Up a Calming Nook for Your Kid
Three Great Kitchen Faucets, As Chosen By Our Readers
How to Make Your Easter Egg Hunt More Accessible for Kids of All Abilities
Africa’s Richest Man Aliko Dangote to Pocket $650M in Dividends

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *